Grief

Can intimacy with grief create a sensitivity to the grief of others?

Much like previously broken bones have been known to ache with changes in the weather?

Aches due to changes in the barometric pressure which occurs with coming storms, as some propose?

Do our inner places previously broken by grief experience changes in some emotional barometric pressure in the face of someone else’s grief storms?

Because we do not “get over loss,” but rather adjust to loss, make space for loss, integrate it into our lives, are changed by loss?

And witnessing someone else’s true grief, remember being there?

In a manner that those whose lives have not been intimately etched by grief cannot?

I wonder.

© E. Wright 2015

 

6 thoughts on “Grief

  1. Yes, I think if we have been “intimately etched with grief,” we will feel with those who are grieving. I experienced this with the loss of my husband. When he died, a widow and two couples who had each lost a son seemed to know intuitively how to comfort me. I appreciated all the outpouring of those around me, but the best comfort came from those friends who had been through deep grief.

  2. What a beautiful and thought-provoking post. I think the only way we can understand the grief of others is by experiencing grief ourselves. There’s an unspoken volume of connection between human beings when grief at one point has touched them. I really enjoyed your writing. I hope to see more of your work!

Leave a Reply

