Early morning encounters

Some are distant
like the hum of traffic
going in my direction
and moving away from me

Some are more intimate
like the touch of early morning dew
on my ankles as I walk briskly
through portions of grass that have over run
the pavement

Or the pleasure of knowing
I am walking faster than before
Or the slight ache of my right ankle
that seems to be present on one specific path
And the kiss of the cooling breeze on my cheek

Then there is the eye contact with a ginger tabby
lying in the grass
near the sign of the SignPro business

Early morning encounters
which bring a slow smile
in the remembering

© E. Wright. April 2015

Leave a Reply

