Water: A non-haiku poem followed by a haiku

I remain on the shore

Watching you stretching into the distance

Touching the bottom of the sky

My deep breath flavored with your damp scent

Exhaled slowly

Taking with it the tension

Which had forcefully hunched my shoulders

Knotted the back of my neck

Sweet relief

Vast body of water

Somehow I breathe deeper in your presence


Water: A Haiku

I remain on the shore

You stretch into the distance gently

Cradling the sky

Writing 201: Water (Day One)

4 thoughts on “Water: A non-haiku poem followed by a haiku

  1. Your first haiku!??? Wow! That is amazing for a first haiku. Visuals and sensations all lined up. And one person left on shore in safety, either afraid or unable to reach for the sky or into the distance. So much said in so few words, you did a good job of this! Okay, it’s not strict form with the count (to me, anyway) 6-9-5 but I’m sure it could be easily tweaked by you to the 5-7-5 syllable format.

Leave a Reply

