Writing 101: To Whom it May Concern

Writing Challenge: Pick up the nearest book and flip to page 29. What jumps out at you? Start there, and try a twist: write in the form of a letter.

A letter to Joy

Dear Joy,

I found you on page 29 of a book. The writing challenge, “To whom it may concern,” was the map that led me to you.

Can I connect with you outside of page 29? You are needed everywhere and in every heart.

Word on the street is that a Carpenter has you in an unlimited supply. One of His family members, a half-brother from His mother, even encourages us to think of the trials of life as occasions for joy.

Is such a mindset possible?  Is perspective the key to locating you outside of the boundaries of page 29? Umm… I think I need to reflect on this more.

Also, do you know anyone who can tell me where to find the Carpenter? I would appreciate any help you can provide.

Sincerely,

E

Leave a Reply

