Writing 101: Happy (Insert Special Occasion Here)!

The Daily Post Writing Assignment: Today, be inspired by a favorite childhood meal. For the twist, focus on infusing the post with your unique voice — even if that makes you a little nervous.

My favorite meal from childhood? Fried green plantains and dried fish sautéed with onions, eschallot,  and tomatoes come to mind; however, I am having difficulty remembering if it was a childhood favorite. One factor in the struggle to remember is this meal has been one of my favorite meals for decades. As such it is easy to assume this love affair began in my childhood.

Let us consider if there is any supporting evidence. I could ask my siblings but since plantains are a family favorite, they will likely have the same difficulty. I cannot recall a family gathering in which this meal was not on the menu. We have joked at times that our family has a plantain gene that we have passed on to the next generation, for even children who were born in other countries also love fried green plantains.

One of my favorite plantain stories is of one of my nephews, who was no more than four years old when the story unfolded. He was visiting from Canada and woke up one of my sisters and requested fried plantains. Mind you, his request was made during the pre-dawn hours. She, being one of the most sweet-spirited persons I know, did as he requested. I was told he asked to stand on a chair so that he could watch the cooking process.

After they were cooked, she cut up the plantains into bite size pieces, cooling them in the process, so that he could enjoy the treat. Next, she placed the plate with the pieces on the dining room table. As she was about to turn on the light, he informed her that he did not need the light. He ate the entire portion in the dark and returned to bed.

It is very likely that he has no memory of the experience. All the same, the next time I see him, I will ask if he was dreaming of plantains, much like the children in, “Twas the night before Christmas,” who “were nestled all snug in their beds, while visions of sugar plums danced in their heads.”

plantains

salt fish

2 thoughts on “Writing 101: Happy (Insert Special Occasion Here)!

  1. This was such a cute story. I enjoy the idea that the love of this food is a gene passed on through your family. The part about your nephew put a much needed smile on my face.

Leave a Reply

