Writing 101: Give and take

Write a post based on the contrast between two things — whether people, objects, emotions, places, or something else. Today’s twist: write your post in the form of a dialogue.

“How was your day?”

“You look worn out, Babe,” John noted as JoAnn dropped into the passenger seat with a sigh that seemed to come from her toes, and give him a perfunctory kiss on the cheek. “Tough day?”

JoAnn, eyes closed, head and neck wilting against the back of the seat, moaned, “Try hellish!”

John gently squeezed her left shoulder and murmured, “What happened?” his eyes fixed on the road as he attempted to merge onto the 405 S freeway.

His touch and sympathy seemed to revive JoAnn. She opened her eyes, turned to face him and began venting. “Do you remember that presentation that I was scheduled to make today to the team visiting from our head office in Chicago? The presentation I worked on for two weeks and emailed to Carla on Monday  so that a hard copy could be included in the folder of documents for each team member?

“Uhh,” John replied, slightly distracted.

JoAnn continued,”This morning, seconds after I sat at my desk, Carla buzzed me and asked me to come to her office. Immediately after I shut the door, she informed me that there had been a change of plans and she would make the presentation to the team. I was stunned and could only stutter, ‘Excuse me?’ Without missing a beat and looking me dead in the eyes, she stated, ‘This presentation is very important for our office and knowing that you are a team player, I knew you would not mind if someone with more experience made the presentation. Of course you will receive appropriate credit for your work.’ With that she turned to her computer and began typing. I stood in front of her desk, feet rooted to the carpet. She looked up and with eyebrows arched, as if surprised to see me still standing there, asked, ‘Is there something you need?’ I muttered, ‘No,’ and returned to my office, where I passed the morning in a daze. It was not until Susan asked me about the presentation during lunch in her office, that the daze vanished, consumed by blazing indignation. When I eventually calmed down, I agreed with Susan that I needed to do something but neither of us could come up with a plan that did not hold the risk of JoAnn exacting her pound of flesh in some manner. I am tired of thinking about it and am so glad we are going away for the rest of the week. I think I will choke her if I had to see her smirking face right now and you know, bright orange is not a flattering color on me.  Anyway, enough about me. How was your day?

John replied, “The usual.”

“What do you mean, ‘the usual?”

Shrugging, he replied, “You know. Meetings. Reports. Phone calls. Lunch. You know. The usual. Do you want us to pick-up dinner on the way home?”

JoAnn, feeling too drained to push for more details as she typically did, sighed, “Sure. Sushi?”

4 thoughts on “Writing 101: Give and take

Leave a Reply

