Family members: Haiku and Tanka

I have never written a haiku

Not once, not ever

No explanation of what it is

Has brought clarity

Now I am challenged to write a tanka

It’s “meatier cousin”

That will so not happen

I have met two members of this family

And dislike them both

But can I truly dislike them

When I do not know them

When they are a mystery to me

Umm

What I dislike is not understanding their forms

Or the instructions of how to create them

I have never written a haiku or a tanka

And probably never will

Or perhaps I one day might

 

Question: Have you had a similar response to a writing challenge or a challenge of another kind?

 

3 thoughts on “Family members: Haiku and Tanka

Leave a Reply

