Can’t stand me

The title of today’s writing prompt from The Daily Post is, “Can’t stand me.” The questions to be answered are, “What do you find more unbearable: watching a video of yourself, or listening to a recording of your voice? Why?”

Of the two options, my initial thought is that watching a video of myself would be the more difficult of the two. It appears tantamount to the difference between a telephone conversation and an in-person conversation. A smile can be heard in a person’s voice during a telephone conversation; however, it will be more difficult to ascertain if the smile is also in the person’s eyes during a telephone conversation than it will be if the conversation was occurring in-person.  My point is, just as more is visible or can be detected during an in-person conversation, so it is would be with a video of myself compared to listening to a recording of my voice. More is exposed.

One positive outcome of more being exposed is that my knowledge of myself can increase as a result; among other things, I can gain insight regarding what others observe as I engage in various behaviors, especially if the video taping occurred when I was unaware that this was being done.  The flip side is, increased self-knowledge can be both freeing and scary.

As I wrap up this post, I realize that responding to this prompt revealed that, unlike my initial perception, neither watching a video of myself or listening to a recording of my voice would be unbearable. What I believe is, there will be a greater level of vulnerability involved in seeing a video of myself than will be experienced in listening to a recording of my voice.

2 thoughts on “Can’t stand me

Leave a Reply

