Writing 101, Day Seventeen: Your Personality on the Page

Assignment: We all have anxieties, worries, and fears. What are you scared of? Address one of your worst fears.  Today’s twist: Write this post in a distinct style from your own.

“She is quiet most of the time.”

“Who?

“The part of me that is scared. Knuckle lightening, whole body, violin strings taut, scared.”

“That is scared. Of what?”

“That I will come to the end of my life and discover that my life had very little meaning. That I never answered the question, ‘Why am I here?’ That I squandered opportunities to make a difference out of fear, carelessness, even self-centeredness.”

“Where did you get the idea that life has meaning?”

“Did not peg you for a cynic but alright. I got the ‘idea’ from my faith. Beginning in childhood, I was told that God exists, created me for a purpose, and blessed me with gifts to use in service of that purpose.”

“Why would you still believe something you were taught as a child?”

“Because, over time, my personal spiritual quest, my own experiences validated this belief. It became my own, not just one inherited from my parents.”

“Okay.”

“Unexpectedly though, the process also give birth to an awareness that my purpose could go undiscovered or misunderstood, and ultimately not fulfilled. This scares me.”

“You said, ‘She is quiet most of the time.’”

“Uh, huh.”

“What activates her? Or maybe agitates is a better word.”

“Different things.”

“Like what?”

“Frustration when I do accomplish a goal even after long, concentrated effort.”

“I know that feeling.”

“Hearing that someone my age has accomplished so much more than I have, or worse, someone decades younger.”

“Ouch.”

“Sometimes lack of sleep.”

“Really?”

“Yes. Sleep deprivation can cause you to feel tired, even worn down or out, and it is harder to see things in a positive light when you are tired.”

“Umm. Makes sense. I am wondering though, what do you do when that fear rears up?”

“Why are you asking?”

“Ah, answering a question with a question. I did not miss that but  unlike you, I will give  a direct response. Friend, listening to you is making me think I need to do some self-evaluation. I am beginning to feel a bit anxious myself.

“Glad I am not the only one.”

 

 

4 thoughts on “Writing 101, Day Seventeen: Your Personality on the Page

  1. I really like this post. I have had these thoughts and fears all my life…perhaps these fears are what drives us to make our journey/life that more interesting…thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

