Writing 101, Day Fourteen: To Whom It May Concern

Assignment:  Pick up the nearest book and flip to page 29. What jumps out at you? Start there, and try a twist: write in the form of a letter.

Dear Therapeutic,

Warmest greetings. According to the online version of the Webster Merriam Dictionary, you are an adjective and pronounced \ˌther-ə-ˈpyü-tik\.

I am sure that you are one of, if not the most, self-aware word in the dictionary and know yourself. All the same, I thought I’d also share how Webster Merriam defines you (the abbreviated version): producing good effects on your body or mind; of or relating to the treatment of illness. Even your aliases are good: curative, healing, officinal, remedial, restorative, medicinal. You go, Therapeutic!

There are some entities I have encountered that, as the saying goes, I would not wish on my worst enemy. But you, Therapeutic, I wish you on everyone. I want everyone to experience you,  especially because you can be experienced in diverse ways – as a walk or a conversation, through the process of journal writing or the practice of mindfulness, to name a few.

You are good “people” therapeutic.  I look forward to our future encounters.

Regards,

Me

Leave a Reply

