Writing 101, Day One: Unlock the Mind

“To get started, let’s loosen up. Let’s unlock the mind. Today, take twenty minutes to free write. And don’t think about what you’ll write. Just write.”

 

So, here I am. Starting the first assignment of Writing 101: Building a Blogging Habit, three days late. Trying not to focus on the fact that I am already behind and instead just write as instructed or invited or encouraged to for twenty minutes. I am thinking that encouraged and invited are softer words, suggesting patience and compassion. Instructed seems less flexible. Not having room for individuality but even instruction involves choice given that I never have to do what I am told. Of course there are always consequences for my choice. Did I not read somewhere that there are no barren choices? Or did I just make that up? Either way, it is true that each choice produces. Sometimes immediately. At other times it takes a while for the offspring of a single choice to show up. And there are offspring. God help us. Isn’t it amazing how when we are choosing n the moment it does not seem like that big of a deal? For example, choosing to go down one street on a burst of adventurism. (Is there even such a word as adventurism? Just in case there is not, let me define it. “Adventurism: – to decide on the spur of a moment to go on an adventure right in one’s neighborhood.  I like that). So I turn down one street and there it is the house I want to live in or at least copy parts of it for my dream home. Or a garden or some other form of landscaping that makes me smile. Or an old couple holding hands. Or a park of children, a few laughing while being chased as part of a game of tag. Parents or caregivers talking to each other but keeping an ever watchful eye. An adventure can also be the choice to try something new that I have never seen before in the grocery store that I have frequented for 10 years. Or to add a new spice or combination of spices to a dish that I can cook with my eyes closed. Proverbially speaking of course. Closing one’s eyes while cooking can never be a good idea. Hot stove and fires and knocking things over or into places they were never designed to be. Yes, an adventure can occur in the ordinary spaces, the familiar spaces. No need to climb Mount Everest or take a 100 mile hike or participate in the Amazing Race. Talking about all these places makes me think of a bucket list. Have I ever created one?  I really cannot recall doing so. I know there are places I would like to visit, like European countries, and South Africa, and the Bahamas but I am not sure if a bucket list, to be considered a true bucket list has to include items that have a strong longing attached to them. Or will mild curiosity do? Umm. Not sure. I can see the mild curiosity working if completing the list does not require sacrifice of time and lots of cash. But I imagine if what I want to do does require time, commitment, and finances, there is a need for a strong longing. I could explore the true meaning of a bucket list, I suppose. Anyway, this is a free write, so let’s continue. What can I write about for another 10 minutes or so? Here’s a thought. Things I have to do tomorrow. Or is there really anything I have to do? Seems like I am back to the issue of choices again. There really is nothing I have to do. I can choose not to go to work although it is not a holiday. Or choose not to attend the daylong conference. Or choose not to adhere to the speed limit or any other traffic laws. Or disregard personal hygiene and let that old BO have a field day. Yep. There is nothing I have to do tomorrow. But there are several things I will choose to do including being thankful, kind, on time, gracious, and positive. Yes. Those are the things I can and will choose to do tomorrow.

 

Leave a Reply

